I promise to have a MUCH more detailed post coming up soon, but I thought I would go ahead and a give a little preview of what’s to come.

Last Thursday, I did something I had never done before. I actually paid money for a pattern. Most patterns I find for free or figure out on my own, so I’ve really had no need to pay for a pattern. That is when I stumbled across the Felted Button on Pinterest and fell in love with a few of her patterns. I ended up buying three and was SO excited when they arrived in my inbox less than an hour after purchasing.

Currently I am working on her Waikiki Wildflower Blanket pattern. This pattern is pretty detailed and I knew creating a full out blanket would take some time. It would be PERFECT for creating a baby blanket, but alas, I have no baby to spoil… yet. Thus, I have decided to put my own spin on her pattern and create a throw pillow instead.

So far I feel like I’ve been fairly successful with my first paid pattern. Part of it calls for a couple of rounds of front post double chains and front post triple chains. While this isn’t my first experience with these stitches, I found them VERY awkward the first time I created my flowers. If you decide to try this pattern as well BE PATIENT. It WILL turn out. This rang true for the joining of the flowers as well. I kept thinking to myself “Am I doing this right? There’s no way this is right.” But lo and behold it’s not looking to shabby (ok maybe a little shabby… shabby chic that is).

Besides my awkward beginning, this a very easy and detailed pattern. Susan did a fabulous job writing it, laying out diagrams, and being super thorough in her explanations. Be sure to check it out!

Also, while Susan uses Red Heart for her pattern, I am using Lily Sugar’n Cream. I LOVE the feel of cotton yarn and for some reason I find it easier to work with. Updates on the pillow will come soon!

20130417-210722.jpg

